Monthly Archives: July 2010

Senior League Fourth Round

Erin’s Own pulled off another dramatic win against Carrickshock in Tullaroan on Friday evening. They produced a wonderful team performance in difficult conditions to edge home 2-10 to 1-12. The southern side made two changes to their starting lineout with John Cahill and John Power replacing Darren O’Dwyer and Andrew Power respectively. Indeed Power repaid his selectors faith notching up 1-1 from play in the first six minutes. Michael Rice added another point to put his side 1-2 to 0-0 ahead.

Their County men Dalton, Tennyson, Rice and Power were orchestrating most of play during the opening stages. Michael Murphy who had arguably his best game in the Comer colours, responded on the double with a point from play and a pointed free. Richie Power got on the end of a good move to put four points between the sides after 15 mins. The Comer defence delivered a long ball, which Ronan Ryan won and hung a high ball in front of the shock goal, Michael Moran rose highest to flick the ball to the net to leave the minimum between the sides. Michael Rice got through for another point, which was cancelled out by Michael Moran. Brian Donovan for shock and Jimmy Byrne EO continued the sequence. Richie Power landed another free, from the resulting puck out, Ronan Ryan was fouled and Murphy converted the free. John Cahill made ground from his wing back berth to point for Carrickshock. Michael Moran and Murphy pulled two back for Comer before Richie Power landed the final point of the half from a placed ball. If the first half was eventful it was nothing compared to what was about to unfold in the second half.

Both sides missed a number of chances in the opening minutes; before Riche Power pointed two and Michael Murphy three frees to kick start the scoring. Donal Meally replaced Jimmy Byrne for Comer. Space was at a premium with every ball fiercely contested, the Comer backs were getting on top and provide a launch pad for their forwards to profit and Ronan Ryan latched onto one such clearance to pop over another point. Damien Fogarty landed a long range free in front of the Carrickshock goal and Michael Murphy rose highest to direct the ball to the net, to give the Comer men the lead for the first time.

While Carrickshock scored two of the last three scores of the game, both from frees the first from Richie Power and the second a late dramatic 21 yard free from John Dalton in the sixth additional minute, which was diverted over, the Comer men were not to be denied the win. Brian Dillon was a late substitution for Comer in place of Gordon Byrne, with Michael Murphy adding another point to his tally to close out his sides tally.


Teams: Erin’s Own: Tom Brophy, James Mullins, Sean Meally, Peter Donovan, Gerry Callinan, Damien Fogarty, Conor Fogarty, Aidan Moran, Gordon Byrne, Jimmy Byrne, Michael Murphy, Ronan Ryan, Peader Boran, Michael Moran, Davy Buggy.
Subs Used: Donal Meally, Brian Dillon.

Carrickshock: Emmet Dunphy, Richie Frisby, John Dalton, Luke Gaule, John Cahill, John Tennyson, John Murphy, Pat Tennyson, William Hoyne, Mark O’Dwyer, Michael Rice, Jamie Power, Brian Donovan, Richie Power, John Power.
Subs Used: Niall Tennyson.

Posted in Administration

Under 9 Tournament Fixtures

Click here for the Erin’s Own Annual Denis Brennan & Nicholas Downey
Under 9 Hurling Blitz/Tournament Fixtures 10/07/2010

Posted in Administration