Monthly Archives: September 2010

Under 10 Ballyhale Tournament winners

Congratulations to Erin’s Own on yet another underage tournament victory this weekend, this time at under 10, with a final win over Thomastown to collect the Kitty Alyward cup. The first match was against The Rower Inistoige. Comer proved too strong and went on to win this match easily to progerss to the quarter final. Dansefort awaited and this proved to be the toughest match of the day, in every sense of the word, but congratulations to the players for concentrating on hurling to ensure a 4 point victory.

The Semi-Final pitted Comer against Bennetsbridge with Comer again proving to be well in form and securing a place in the final with a good victory. The final turned out to be third time lucky for this team against Thomastown. 2 weeks previous they lost in the last puck of the game by a single point but matters were well reversed with Comer running out winners by 10 points. Well done to all involved.


Declan Buggy, captain for the day, collected the cup from Bobby Alyward.


Panel; Jamie Maher, Liam Holland, Cathal Holland, Jack Buggy, Conor McMahon, Christopher Korff, Conor Clarke, James Brennan, Kevin Brennan, Declan Buggy, Billy O’Neill, Dan Coogan, James Buggy, Kevin Holland, Killian Hogan, Cian Comerford.

Posted in Administration

2010 Senior Hurling League Shield Champions

Congratulations to Erin’s Own on their victory over O’Loughlin Gaels in the Senior Hurling League Shield Final which took place in Nowlan Park on Saturday 18th Sept. Both teams fielded changes to their league teams but it was Erins Own who showed the depth in talent available to them and superior fitness by coming through in a single point victory in the end. Joe Meagher collected the shield on behalf of the team. Well done to all the team, subs and mentors.

Final Score: Erin’s Own 4-13 O’Loughlin Gaels 2-18.

Posted in Administration

Senior League Shield Final

Our Senior hurlers have qualified for the league shield final, playing O’Loughlins in Nowlan Park on Saturday @ 3:30pm.Come along and support the lads.

Posted in Administration

Juvenile Action

The club’s younger members took centre stage over the weekend with our under 9 & 10’s in action in blitzs, both hosted by James Stephens. The U10’s got the ball rolling taking part in a six team event on Saturday, with all teams playing each other on a league basis, qualifying for 1st, 2nd and 3rd place finals. Our lads contested the 1st place final, having suffered a narrow defeat to Naas in the opening game, they won their remaining four games against Edenderry, Dicksbors, O’Loughlin’s and James Stephens. Naas provided the oppositon in the final, which proved to be a thriller, Naas built up a large advantage early in the second half, but the local boys rattled in three unanswered goals to leave the minimum between the sides at the final whistle.Well done boys. Panel: Dan Coogan, Liam Holland, Cathal Holland, Christopher Korff, Jack Buggy, Kevin Holland, Conor McMahon, James Brennan, Conor Clarke, Leah Holden, Jack Buggy, Killian Hogan, Nicky Connolly, Christopher Korff, Declan Buggy, James Buggy, Jamie Maher,Billy O’Neill.
The U-9’s were out on Sunday morning and were paired with Danesfort and O’Loughins gaels in their group, the boys won their two games qualifying to play Kilmacud Crokes in the 1st place final, they produced another fine performance to take the honours.Panel: Jamie Maher, Dan Coogan, Kealan Ring, Timmy Ward, Jack Buggy, Kevin Holland, Conor Clarke, Daragh O’Rourke, Christopher Korff, Jack Appazatto, Billy O’Neill, Killian Hogan, Thomas Judge, Nicky Connolly, James Hogan, Leah Holden, Shane Coogan, Luka Downey, Liam Doyle.

Posted in Administration

Week Review

Erin’s Own juveniles sides took up residency in Palmerstown this week, with our U-16s first up on Tuesday evening playing Thomastown in the Roinn A championship semi final replay. Both teams served up another thriller, which required extra time to eventually divide the sides, with Thomastown pervailing by two points,0-14 to 1-09.Panel: Jim Buggy, Andrew Dowd, Eamon Healy, Edward Holland, Martin Walsh, Eoin Brennan, Conor Delaney, Ciaran Wallace, Robert Moran, Eoghan Walsh, Shane Rice, Daragh Brennan, Niall McMahon, Rian Holden, David O’Neill, Jack Brennan, Sean McDermott, Donal Carroll Emmet Coogan, Ciaran Coogan, John Callinan.  
Our U-14s were next up facing Clara in Roinn A championship Q final. The locals put in a fine spirited performance, but came up against a stronger side on the day. The lads now move on to the shield competition.Panel: Conor Dwyer, Ross Connolly, Donal Carroll, David Holohan, Richie Healy, Conor Delaney, Shane Feehan, Niall McMahon, John Callinan, Paul Ring, Rian Holden, Sean Buggy, Jamie Holohan, Ciaran Healy, Ian Holohan, Joseph Phelan, James Rothwell.
Finally the U-10s travelled to take part in the Dicksboro blitz on Saturday, Our boys were paired with Boherlahan-Dualla, Thomastown & James Stephens, Wins over Boherlahan and James Stephens qualified the boys for the shield final, which they duly won defeating Na Fianna from Dublin. Panel: Dan Coogan, Liam Holland, Cathal Holland, Kevin Holland Conor McMahon, James Brennan, Conor Clarke, Leah Holden, Jack Buggy, Killian Hogan, Nicky Connolly, Christopher Korff, Declan Buggy, James Buggy, Jamie Maher.

Congratulations to Eoin Meally, who was a member of the victourous Kilkenny all Ireland winning team. Martin Fogarty (selector) and Damien Fogarty (panel) represented the club with the Kilkenny senior team.

Posted in Administration