Erin’s Own News 20th June 2012

Club Lotto.

The club lotto is now up to €13,800.00. Be in to win. Get your tickets from any committee members or from local shops. You can also sign up to a direct debit scheme whereby you are entered every week in the Local lotto so you don’t have to worry about getting your ticket. Contact Helen at 087 6645022 or any committee member if you would like to take up this way to play the local lotto. Remeber all the money raised goes back into your community.

Erin’s Own Annual Golf Classic.
Preparations for the seventh annual Erin’s Own GAA Golf classic are now in”full swing”. The Golf Classic takes place on Friday the 29th June in Castlecomer Golf Club. This day is regarded as one the great social days and nights of the clubs year.A team of 3 costs €120.00 including Barbeque and with some great prizes on offer please contact David Buggy Motors on 056 7770808 to book a tee time. With the time sheet now filling up teams are asked to book their slot  immediately. As usual there will be plenty of entertainment and craic on the night.

25th Anniversary Minor Roinn A Champions Celebrations.
On the 29th June Erin’s Own will honour the victorious Minor team who won the Roinn A Campionship in 1987 for the 1st time ever in the clubs history. This celebration and presentation to the victorious team will take place in Castlecomer Golf Club on the night of the Golf Classic. All members past and present are invited along to this social event with music and craic guaranteed.

Kellogs GAA Cul Camps.
The national kellogs GAA Cul camps will take place again this year in Castlecomer. You can book your child in on these camps by going onto the GAA website ( or by picking up an entry form on Kellogs boxes.

All members and supporters are reminded that they can support Erin’s Own GAA Club when renewing your car or home insurance with Campion Insurances. Simply quote Erin’s Own/Kilkenny when contacting Campion Insurances for your
quote and Campion’s will contribute €10.00 per policy to the club. This is open to all new and existing customers.

Ballyragget Under 11 Blitz.

Erins Own under 11s travelled to Ballyragget on Friday evening last to take part in the annual phelan stone tournament. The Comer boys took on the Village boys in the first game and after a trilling match honours were shared on a scoreline of  2-6 TO 1-9. In the second round the local boys had a great victory over Freshford by 4 points. In their last Match the Comer boys entertained the Dicksboro boys and producing their best hurling of the evening the Comer boys ran out convincing winners by 7 points. Afterwards team captain collected the trophy on behalf of the Comer panel before all the boys were treated to a barbecue by the host club.

Panel. J.Maher, D.Coogan, K.Ring, J.Buggy, N.Connolly, C.Clarke, K.Holland, D.O Rourke,K.Smyth,S.Coogan,B.O. Neill, C.Korff, K.Hogan, L.Holden., M. Dywer, E. Brennan, D. Brennan A.Kavanagh.


In the the under 14 league Erin’s Own entertained Barrow Rangers on Sunday evening in Ballycomet. Played in ideal conditions the Comer boys set out their intentions from the first minute and raced into an early lead with Ross Connolly getting a stick to a long delivery to put the Comer boys in the lead. This was followed by a point from Conor McMahon and then Ross Connolly raced in to plant another goal to the net. Shortly afterwards Comer added another goal and a few points to go to the half time lead with three clear goals dividing the teams. Comer statrted the second half as the finished the first and held the Barrow Rangers boys brilliantly. Again Ross Connolly got on the end of a great comer move to bury his fourth goal and at this stage Comer enjoyed a nine point lead, However the Paulstown boys raced back into the match and narrowed the lead to five points before Kevin Brennan added another goal. The Barrow Rangers boys kept
attacking and were rewarded with two late goals but the Comer boys held on for a magnificent victory on a scoreline of 6-7 to 4-10.. All the Comer players played very well but special mention must go to Ross Connolly who scored four great goals.

TEAM. R.Brennan, A.Brennan,D.Buggy, S.Coogan, J.Rothwell, O.O  Rourke, I.Holohan, S.Buggy(0-3), C.Holland(0-2), C.McMahon(0-1) J.Dowd, R.Connolly,(4-0) T.Dwyer, J.Brennan,(1-2) E.Brennan, Subs. K.Brennan (1-0)

Posted in Administration