Review 08 May

Erin’s Own and O’Loughlins met in the second round of the senior hurling league in Ballyragget on Friday evening, played in wet and windy conditions.

The ‘Comer men come out off the blocks fast registering the first five scores to open up a 0-5 to 0-0 lead. Anthony Owens opened the scoring, Damien Fogarty followed up with a long range free, Michael Owens and Martin Boran added two more from play, with a Michael Murphy free closing the sequence.

O’Loughlins responded with 4 points, three from Mark Bergin, one 65 and two frees and a Martin Comerford point, leaving the minimum between the sides. Damien Fogarty landed another free to leave the half time score 0-6 to 0-4.

The opening exchanges of the second half proved to be a shoot out between the two free takers, with Murphy 4 and Bergin 2 establishing a four point lead for the locals. These were the final scores for the ‘Comer men as O’Loughlins turned a four point defecit into a four point winning margin 0-14 to 0-10.

Team: Tom Brophy, James Mullins, Aidan Moran, Peter O’Donovan, Gerry Callinan, Damien Fogarty, Conor Fogarty, Ronan Ryan, Jimmy Byrne, Anthony Owens, Michael Owens, Donal Meally, Martin Boran, Michael Murphy, Peader Boran.

Subs: Eoin Meally, Gordon Byrne, Eddie Brennan, Michael Moran, Martin Hawley, Dermot Wallace, Brian Dillon, Ciaran McDermott, Stephen Daly, Thomas Dwyer, Anthony Kavanagh, Sean Dwyer, David O’Gorman.

Subs Used: Eddie Brennan.

Scorers: Michael Murphy 0-5f, Damien Fogarty 0-2f, Anthony Owens 0-1, Michael Owens 0-1, Martin Boran 0-1.


The junior hurlers put in a great performance beating Clara 1-17 to 2-09 in the league. An encouraging aspect of the game was the impressive displays of a number of the younger members of the team.


Our u-12 played O’Loughlins in the Callan tournament on Thursday, the boys hurled well, securing a good win. Next up for the lads is a game against St Martin’s.

Panel: Richard Brennan, Adam Mullaly, Sean Coogan, Joe Hickson, Adam Brennan, James Brennan, Dan Coogan, Ross Connolly, Thomas Dwyer, David Ferris, John Dowd, Conor Normoyle, Kevin Brennan, Eoin O’Rourke, Liam Kenny, Conor McMahon, Declan Buggy, Nicky Connolly, Billy O’Neill, Conor Clarke, Jack Dowling,


Cathal Holland, Liam Holland, James Buggy.

Posted in Administration