Senior Semi final

Erin’s Own suffered the heartache of a two point defeat, 1-14 to 1-16 to Carrickshock in the senior semi final on Sunday in Nowlan Park. Comer got off to a flying start opening up a 1-2 0-0 lead in opening quarter. Gordon Byrne opened the scoring with a fine point, following a great catch from Donal Meally. Peader Boran added another, from a Michael Murphy pass. Murphy again was provider, with Martin Boran pouncing on a loose ball to raise the green flag.
Richie Power got his side on the score board from a free. both sides missed missed chances EO 2 and ‘shock 1, before Richie Power struck on the double from frees. The southerners stopped a Comer attack and quickly broke down field, with John Power scoring a goal. Richie Power added another pointed free, with Erin’s Own stopping the sequence, courtesy of a Gordon Byrne point. Michael Rice and David Franks replied with a point each.A Martin Boran point reduced the lead to two, taking a pass from Michael Owens. Jamie Power and another Richie Power free left the half time score 1-8 to 1-4 in their sides favour.
The second Half started with a Riche Power pointed free, a Pat Tennyson point and a Richie Power point from play.
The game appeared to be slipping from the locals with seven points seperating the sides. The lads dug deep scoring five points to pull it back to 1-9 to 1-11, Michael Murphy three 1f, Martin Boran and Ronan Ryan on target.Two Richie Power frees followed by a Martin Boran point and a Damien Fogarty free, left the minimun between the sides. Richie Power was again on target with two frees,split by a Damien Fogarty free, setting up a nail biting finish, with time almost up Davy Buggy was introduced for Jimmy Byrne, but despite their best efforts, Carrickshock held on to win 1-16 to 1-14.
Although a final place eluded the locals, they can look back on another fine season.
Panel: Tom Brophy,James Mullins,Sean Meally,Peter O’Donovan, Gerry Callinan,Damien Fogarty,Conor Fogarty,Ronan Ryan,Gordon Byrne,Jimmy Byrne,Michael Owens,Donal Meally,Peader Boran,Michael Murphy,Martin Boran,Eoin Meally,Aidan Moran,Michael Moran,Davy Buggy,Mikey Dwyer,Martin Hawley,Brian Dillon,Dermot Wallace,Ciaran McDermott,Joe Meagher,Donal Fenlon,Caoimhan Dunne,Stephen Daly,Declan Dunne,Larry Carroll.

Posted in Administration