SHL Third Round

After the third round of the senior league, Erin’s Own share top spot in group A with James Stephens & Carrickshock on 4pts, with St Lachtain’s, Tullaroan & the Fenians tied on 2pts.

Erin’s Own and St Lachtain’s travelled to Ballyragget on Sunday evening, for a pairing of the 2008 & 2009 intermediate champions. The first half was a shoot out between Martin Boran and Eoin Guinan, with Boran scoring all of his sides seven points and Guinan contributing1-5 for his, Bill Beckett & James Fitzpatrick adding a point each for Lachtain’s, to leave a goal between the sides at half time 1-07 to 0-7.

The Erin’s Own management made a number of positional changes during the interval, which had an immediate impact, Damien Fogarty now operating at centre back, delivered a free in front of the square, Davy Buggy caught and goaled to tie the game. This score started what proved to be the winning sequence of scores, the Comer men added another five points without reply to open up a five point lead. Martin Boran 2f, Davy Buggy 2 and Michael Moran 1 on target, before James Fitzpatrick halted the run with a point for St Lachtain’s. Older Statesmen Buggy, Owens and Ryan were orchestrating proceedings for the Comer side, with the defence closing down the space that the Freshford side had exposed during the first half. Comer again put together a run of four points Ronan Ryan, Aidan Moran, Eddie Brennan and Michael Moran scoring. Davy Brennan replied for Lachtain’s with a well taken goal. Martin Boran converted a free in response.Noel McGree & James Fitzpatrick reduced the deficit to three points with a point apiece, this was Fitzpatrick’s third point from play, impressive considering he was operating at wing back. Damien Fogarty landed a monster free from well inside his own half to stretch the lead back to four. Eoin Guinan landed two points from frees, which were divided by a Ronan Ryan minor to leave the final score 1-19 to 2-13 in favour of the Comer side.

Erin’s Own: Tom Brophy, James Mullins, Sean Meally, Peter Donovan, Jerry Callinan, Damien Fogarty, Conor Fogarty, Aidan Moran, Ronan Ryan, Eddie Brennan, Michael Moran, Martin Boran, Peader Boran, Davy Buggy, Michael Owens.

Subs Used: Donal Meally.

St Lachtain’s: Thomas Delaney, Tomas Flynn, Seamus Hayes, Ger Dalton, Michael McCormack, Michael Kavanagh, John Fitzpatrick, Noel McGree, Noel Hickey, Eoin Guinan, Davy Brennan, Robbie Dowling, Ollie O’Connor, Bill Beckett, Paul Guinan.

Subs Used: Brian Kennedy, Martin Power & Stephen Farrell.

Scorers: Erin’s Own Martin Boran 0-10 8f, Davy Buggy 1-2, M Moran 0-2, R Ryan 0-2, A Moran 0-1, Eddie Brennan 0-1, D Fogarty 0-1f.

St Lachtain’s: Eoin Guinan 1-8 5f, D Brennan 1-0, J Fitzpatrick 0-3, B Beckett 0-1, N McGree 0-1.

Posted in Administration